Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

My Summer Reading List

leave a comment »

Okay, so supposedly I have to read the books that I have checked out of the library before I can check more out.  That is what J says. He is constantly threatening to return them.   I have been steadily checking them out anyway and as subterfuge instead of bringing them home I leave them on my desk.

Ha!

But here is what I am tentatively reading during the lazy days of summer and television repeats:

Fruit of the Lemon by Andrea Levy

  • I read her previous book, Small Island last summer and I loved it greatly.  This current book is not disappointing.  Sometimes its good to see issues of race in other countries instead of just the old American issues.

UnSpun: finding facts in a world of disinformation

Censored 2006

  • My yearly (or lately bi-yearly) purchase. 

The Darker Nations: A People’s History of the 3rd World by Vijay Prashad

Not Buying It: My Year Without Shopping by Judith Levine

  • When I heard her speak on NPR I was instantly intrigued.  J loves the title and insist I go on a year long shopping fast.  I want to see how Levine did on hers before I will commit.

Ministry of Special Cases by Nathan Englander

Chances are I will possibly only read three or maybe three and a half of the books by the time the autumnal equinox rolls around. 

Written by rentec

15 June, 2007 at 2:19 pm

Posted in books

Leave a Reply

