Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

RIP Sekou

leave a comment »

My heart has just dropped. 

I cruised on to NPR’s Tell Me More and saw that my favorite poet/performance artist Sekou Sundiata has passed away.  I became introduced to Sundiata’s work when I found out he had been signed to Ani DiFranco’s label.  I bought both of his cd’s (Long Story Short and The Blue Oneness of Dreams) and I have been known to use his poems on my mixtapes and cds that I make for friends.   I love his poems Isle de Goree and Black Boys to Men.  I love the sound of his voice as he read his words; his cadence and inflections are better than anything being played over beats on the radio.

I pray for his loved ones and hope they know his words reached many.

Written by rentec

21 July, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Posted in news

Leave a Reply

