Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

We are the One’s We’ve Been Waiting For

leave a comment »

We are three days away from the primaries and all three candidates have been through my city and I haven’t had a chance to see one of them.

But I’m not worried.  I know who I am going to vote for and on Tuesday 4 March I’ll go in with my daughter (who gets to vote in her very first primary) to cast my vote.  That’s three generations of women in my family that have been able to cast our ballots in the general election and I don’t take that lightly.

Over the past 15 years I have been hearing the growing sentiment from a lot of African Americans that our votes didn’t count.  But with the 2000 and 2004 elections we should see that every vote counts.  With the current administrations tactics of trying to disenfranchise certain segement of voters (when they couldn’t discourage them) we can’t take our voting for granted.  Yes, it’s just one person, with ballot.  It’s like a whisper, but if we all whisper together our voices can become a roar.

So, no matter who you are voting for make sure that you do vote.  Usually by the time the primaries get to Ohio it’s already been decided and our people just usually vote for whoever has already accumulated the most votes because they want to tow the party line.  But in Ohio, you don’t have to vote with whatever letter they have written next to your name.  If you are a Democrat you can ask for a Republican ballot.  I think you might even be able to ask for a Green Party ticket, if that floats your boat.

So, vote.

Written by rentec

2 March, 2008 at 3:26 pm

Leave a Reply

