Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Let’s Go Way Back….

with 2 comments

I found this over on the Huffington Post in an article where H. Clinton wanted to chuck Reagan Democrats.  In 1995 she said to her then in office husband , “Screw ’em.  You don’t owe them a thing, Bill. They’re doing nothing for you; you don’t have to do anything for them.”

To which B. Clinton replied, “I know how you feel. I understand Hillary’s sense of outrage. It makes me mad too. Sure, we lost our base in the South; our boys voted for Gingrich. But let me tell you something. I know these boys. I grew up with them. Hardworking, poor, white boys, who feel left out, feel that our reforms always come at their expense. Think about it, every progressive advance our country has made since the Civil War has been on their backs. They’re the ones asked to pay the price of progress. Now, we are the party of progress, but let me tell you, until we find a way to include these boys in our programs, until we stop making them pay the whole price of liberty for others, we are never going to unite our party, never really going to have change that sticks.”

That sounds so familiar… like something I just heard recently… but the speaker used another word in reference to whites with guns… religion… you know the one. 

Was it acrid?  Acerbic?  Sour?

I can’t remember but it will come to me.

 

Written by rentec

17 April, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Posted in news, politics

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, I think the people in this group ought to read “Romance on the Road” which is a very interesting and readable 400-page sociological study on Western women’s experiences with travel romances, reverse sex tourism, and inter-cultural marriage. I just finished reading it and thought it was one of the most interesting books I’ve read in a while. Furthermore, it compares women’s experiences with men from all over the globe, stopping just short of rating them by culture and group. Anyway, it’s a serious, but readable book, and well worth the $35 price.

    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

    wpm1955

    11 May, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  2. Sorry, I didn’t mean to put this comment in THIS post, so I will add it to the post on New Minority on the Dating Scene–White Males. Just delete it here.

    Madame Monet

    wpm1955

    11 May, 2008 at 2:36 pm


Leave a Reply

