Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

True Blood: Two Taras

with 5 comments

I’m going to preface this by saying I don’t have HBO so I haven’t watched an episode of True Blood yet. 

From most critics I keep hearing about how good the show is by calling it witty, deliciously twisted, and wildly imaginative.

I have a friend who finds the black characters of Tara Thornton and Lafayette Reynolds anything but original.  She thinks of them as one-dimensional caricatures: Tara is the angry, dark skinned female friend and Lafayette is the flaming brother.  Both are hypersexual. Both are sassy and outspoken.  She watches the show and cringes.

Today she sent me two vids of the same scene but one with the pilot Tara, the other with the recast, current Tara.  Watching the quick takes I can see why she would have problems with Tara and it does give me pause to wonder why they would recast.

What is your take?

Written by rentec

23 September, 2008 at 4:30 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i don’t have HBO. but i wanted to see TB so i found the pilot online. Watched half of it and the stream started fuckin up, so i found another stream and was SO confused, because when I started it up, it was a new Tara. I don’t know why they switched but am very curious. was the first one not “black” enough?

    John

    27 September, 2008 at 9:02 pm

  2. I think that’s what it was. Brooke wasn’t dark enough to play the Angry Black Women.

    sachab28

    1 October, 2008 at 3:23 pm

  3. I know this is an old post but I LOVE the new Tara. I can see why people see a stereotype in the character but she gives depth where it never existed. Rutina communicates such hurt and hope and disappoint in one look. Unfortunately, the first Tara was anger and loudness without a point. Rutina was just more talented.

    Another thing I have seen at other websites is that people comment that the first Tara was prettier so they went with more talent. Talk about backhanded complements! It really still shocks me that we are so brainwashed that passing the paper bag test alone makes one pretty. Rutina is ABSOLUTELY gorgeous and I am disappointed no one comments on or sees that.

    Give this show a chance (I watch it online at You Tube or Megavideo or surfthechannel) and you will fall for her as well.

    Signed
    fan

    Renee

    2 November, 2008 at 3:51 am

  4. her accent was unnaturally bad and stilted. I couldn’t stand this in the pilot and am thrilled they recast with someone who does not distract you from the story with a jarring southern accent.

    kelly

    14 March, 2009 at 6:32 am

  5. First Tara was a shitty actor.
    New Tara plays the role very well.
    It doesnt have anything to do with being black enough, dimwit.

    aaa

    14 July, 2010 at 4:43 pm


Leave a Reply

