Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

What is “Next” for James Hynes

leave a comment »

I might be one of the few people who care about this but I’m going to blog about it anyway: James Hynes has a book that will be coming out soon.

I don’t know how soon, though, but it doesn’t matter.  I’ve been waiting for a new book by him for four years.

That I’m a fan of James Hynes might surprise some who read this blog and are also familiar with his work.  His books are erudite, jocose, and give a forthright look at the plight of overeducated, beleaguered white males –in a funny way.

I can’t really explain it without making his books sound something like the Family Guy from which they are far removed.  But trust me, he’s great and underappreciated. 

As they say on Reading Rainbow you don’t have to take my word for it.  Here’s an excerpt from my favorite book, The Lecturer’s Tale on his website.  Click here.

Written by rentec

1 October, 2008 at 4:50 am

Posted in books

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

