Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Can A.G. Dolla Get a Listen?

leave a comment »

The music industry is kind of slowing down right now.  It’s so slow that what’s hot are artists like Adele, Amy Winehouse, and Joss Stone mimicking the sounds of old Soul music’s past.

Brit rapper M.I.A. is unique and creative, though.  But she’s also brown (of Tamil descent) and for many people a brown person doing something original is not as great as someone non-brown perfecting the old.

I’m just saying.

East African-Asian rapper A.G. Dolla wants to give it a try anyway.  Instead of waiting for a record label to hand him a contract,  Dolla is releasing his own material.

From his interview with Eastern Eye Magazine (Nov 7, 2008)

“Finding your sound always takes a long time. Part of being a successful artist is to never be complacent about your music and style. It’s always about improving and trying new things. It’s taken me years to get to a point where I think I am at a good level. I still have a lot to achieve before I am completely content with my sound.”

“I have called my album Mr Shah because that’s my real name. It’s not a gimmick, it’s an album to show I am proud of who I am. It’s not an album full of Asian sounds only either. It has a wide range of instrumentation as well as talking about issues that people go through, such as family pressure, love, hate and even the lighthearted and funny aspects of life such as partying too much and getting stopped at airports. It’s a real heart-felt album, taken from my experiences as an educated, east African- Asian bachelor who has travelled the world. I want us Asians to be respected as musicians and not categorised as just bhangra artists. I want everyone who hears this album to be inspired and then some”

“The album will appeal to everyone as it deals with emotions and hardships we all relate to, such as family pressure, identifying with our roots, interracial love, partying too much and even spiritual aspects such fighting our own demons and doubts. Overall, I feel it’s an intelligent album and has a positive feel to life’s ups and downs.”

Written by rentec

4 December, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Leave a Reply

