Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Hood Nerds: Not Just a Name, But a Movement

with 4 comments

As a self professed nerd I am always on the look out for anything black and nerdy.  Believe me, it’s far and few between.  Being black and nerdy is not mutually exclusive although people behave as it is.  For many being black is about being cool and dangerous– but criminally dangerous not educationally so.

Although if the thugs gave it half a thought they would wonder realize that nothing is more dangerous than an educated black person.  For many years they made it a crime to be so.

Hood Nerd Girls and DJ Inferno

Hood Nerd Girls and DJ Inferno

A friend sent me this link so I have to put them on.  Hood Nerds was started by four teenage girls whose mission is to “impact positive change in communities all over the world through, dance, fashion and Music”.   They want to show the world that they can get good grades, never go to jail, continue on to college while still living in the hood.

Yeah, they want a lot.  But whose to say that they can’t get it?

Perusing the site it does seem like the kids love to party– but didn’t PE say it best with their ’89 jam Party for your Right to Fight?  They are planning an upcoming Krumpfest for to help fund raise for their organization and their next event is  “The Revenge of The HOOD Nerds MLK pre Celebration” to celebrate the life of Dr. Martin Luther King on January 18.

But they are also into community outreach by volunteering in schools or working with other non profits.

Check out their website and if you are in the Minneapolis, Minnesota area check out their events.

Written by rentec

21 December, 2008 at 1:48 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have to say, I can not agree with you in 100%, but that’s just my opinion, which could be very wrong.
    p.s. You have an awesome template . Where did you find it?

    hydraulic car jack

    14 March, 2009 at 1:01 pm

  2. Hi Hydraulic,

    I just use the journalist template that is offered here on WordPress.

    rentec

    14 March, 2009 at 7:12 pm

  3. I love the term. Back in the day I was called “White Girl”! Now it’s called Hood Nerds! I love it! I was born and raised in Harlem. The crew I rolled with were all “Hood Nerds”!

    nicoleh73

    12 January, 2010 at 5:42 pm

  4. Love the post. 🙂 As a black geek myself in my 30’s I’m happy about this.

    robotcalvin

    28 April, 2010 at 3:41 pm


Leave a Reply

