Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Couple Drops Lawsuit Against Airline

leave a comment »

I’m kind of mad the Shimamotos are dropping their lawsuit against United Airlines.  Not because I think they have a case, it’s overtly litigious, but because I wanted to see a picture of them. 

I’m not going to lie, I’m one of those people who see a story on the news and cross my fingers they aren’t black.  I hear the words “Man Robs Liquor Store” and start to pray until they show a pic or I hear the words “last seen in trailer park”.  Then I can let go a sigh of relief.

I think they might be a Blasian couple because the wife’s name is Ayisha.  But then I know a 50-something year old woman named Rawanda and she’s white.  Names are not always a good indicator of race, ethnicity or culture.

The Shimamotos were suing United Airlines because on the nine hour flight from Osaka, Japan to San Francisco, California the husband, Yoichi, became so inebriated that once they were off the plane Yoichi struck his wife six times causing injuries to her face.  The husband was arrested and got probation.

The couple sued the airline because they Y. Shimamoto became drunk on the airlines alochol and they felt the server should have cut him off.

Although Yoichi Shimamoto was charged and sentenced to 18 months’ probation, the couple contend that United Airlines ultimately was responsible for his violent outburst, according to the lawsuit.

United’s “conduct was egregious because it knew or should have known that over-serving a passenger alcohol on an international flight would have negative consequences,” the complaint said. United’s “conduct was deliberate, reckless, intentional and done with disregard for plaintiffs and all passengers.”

Chicago Tribune 17 Dec 2008

A. Shimamoto said they were supplying her husband with liquor every 20 minutes.

As a non drinker the weightiness of the lawsuit failed to reach me.  I can barely have a sip of wine cooler without passing out (yes, I’m a lightweight) and the only way I’m ever getting on a plane is if I have to reach my daughter or mother in record time. But if J hit me because he was drunk I doubt you’d be reading about us suing the airline.  Instead you’d be seeing pics of me on Oxygen’s Snapped because we aren’t going to play that game. 

So off into obscurity the Shimamtos go without me knowing whether they are a Blasian couple or not.  Unless they take another long plane trip with a free bar.

Written by rentec

13 January, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

