Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Another AM/BF sighting

with one comment

Last night I watched Medicine for Melancholy and I nearly busted out laughing when Micah (played by Wyatt Cenac) went on his rant about interrcial couplings and asked, “Why don’t you ever see black women with Asian men?”

“Yeah, J,” I nudged him.  “Why don’t we ever see that?”

But more are coupling up.  Here’s a link to a story about a black girl dating a Chinese guy on AverageBro.com.

So how did I accidentally start dating a Chinese guy? Well, all I can say is that on that night in July when we met, I magically stopped thinking about the fact that he wasn’t black, and was more concerned by how great he was.

We ended up talking for hours, both the night we met and then over the next few weeks. As culturally conflicted, yet militantly black as I am, he is with his Chinese culture. Yes, my afro and it’s daily changes of behavior do require the occasional conversation, but it’s not nearly as complicated as I thought it would be (of course, he hasn’t seen me with my hair tied up and in rollers yet).

In fact, the interracial/intercultural part of our relationship is not nearly as complicated as I would have thought it to be. Yes – there have been a few hiccups and nervous moments. Him telling his Hong Kong-born mom about me. Me meeting his mom and realizing that when nervous, she’s less comfortable speaking English. Me meeting the rest of his family at Thanksgiving. Him meeting my Bible-study group. But at the same time, I’m sure some of these things (family, religion) are complicated in any relationship.

And I’ve found that some things are true regardless of race or culture: I won his mom over by going shopping together on the day after Thanksgiving. I impressed the rest of the family by cooking pies for Thanksgiving and Christmas. I’ve knitted his mother a scarf. All things I know any black mother would be impressed by, as well.

Written by rentec

12 February, 2009 at 1:39 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha! That movie is in my “Indies to check out” que. Ironically, the director Barry Jenkins did a short for Macy’s based on the relationship of a black woman from NYC who falls for an Asian guy while visiting a Macy’s in China. I’m sure you remember it because you stay up on these things:

    Maria

    16 May, 2010 at 2:33 pm


Leave a Reply

