Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

War Between the Genders: Swipes

with 6 comments

This video was a topic of disgust for me and my friends a few days ago.  It was a slap at IR dating black women and educated black males as if every married out black female thinks little of black males and a black man holding an MBA is just a firing away from letting his inner thug take hold.

I know it’s supposed to be comedy, it missed the mark.

What it did hit was hit was a sentiment that a small group have been expressing on the net for the last few months, nay years.  Before it was confined to black women bloggers expressing their frustration and encouraging each other to date out and in the midst were some black females who took diggs (deep ones) at black males.

Proving that they can be just as petty with a lot of time on their hands, too, a few black males have taken to creating blogs (this one and this one) of their own disparaging black females who date outside the race.  Or black females who have differing ideas.  I discovered the blogs as I was patrolling Siditty’s blog (also a conscientious objector in this war; she’s Canada to my Sweden) and she pointed the blogs out.

Again, not funny and bordering on sad.

I’ve been reporting on this war between us for about 19 months now and one would think that a truce would be called now that we have a national example of black love.  Instead the war just seems to be gearing up.

When will it ever end?

As long as it continues I’ll be giving you the updates.  This is your embedded Interracial Relationship War Correspondent signing off.

Written by rentec

7 March, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Posted in African Americans, dating

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you’re not mentally savvy enough to correctly interpret satire or you are just inclined to be uncharitable when analyzing my satire, then do your audience a favor and don’t comment on my work. No intelligent satirist would advance a premise based on a gross generalization about interracial dating black women, black men or any group of people because any intelligent person knows- no group of people all think alike. Now a satirist might use generalizations in his/her satire to exaggerate some points, like how a cartoonist exaggerates the features of a human being. And through his/her exaggeration points are made about mentalities or behaviors that the satirist may feel exists within the particular groups he/she is satirizing (whether you want to hear this mentality or behavior represented in mediums like comedy or not) however, this exaggeration does not mean that this satirist believes and/or is asserting a gross generalization about the particular groups he/she is satirizing. (Read these sentences over if you didn’t quite get the point.)

    So for you to provide such a simplistic assessment of my comedy shows that you are obviously not mentally equipped to assess my comedy or you simply underestimate the motives and skill in my comedy. (I mean, you didn’t even comment on the symbolism of Trump in the sketch or the sociological implications in Kwame’s responses.)

    You claim that you have been analyzing the gender wars in the black community for months or for the last couple of years. Well, I’ve been representing this concept in my comedy since the late 90’s. And this particular sketch you’re commenting on was filmed at CBS in 2006, performed live since 2005. I’ve never read your blogs or any internet chatter about the subject. I don’t know too many people who have. And I really haven’t seen anyone thoroughly and/or intellectually address the subject in theatrical comedy until I hit the scene.

    But to be honest, I have no desire to defend myself against random individuals who claim to be critics. However, I will give you some words of wisdom. The next time you comment on my comedic work, try to step your intellectual game up, ma.

    Kamal Symonette-Dixon
    SPOCTV Networks

    Kamal Symonette-Dixon

    7 April, 2009 at 10:55 am

  2. When your joke hits the mark its easy to say that someone else isn’t intelligent enough to get them. And I did get it, you were doing what a lot of people like to do: use black women as the butt of your jokes. The fact that a black woman was used to rip apart a black male was also duly noted.

    I don’t claim to be a comedy critic, but no one needs credentials to view something and pass their judgement on it.

    rentec

    9 April, 2009 at 1:00 pm

  3. I’ve received a myriad of compliments on the brilliance of this sketch. Generally the unintelligent or the overly sensitive have problems with satire like this. If I grant that you are intelligent enough to understand my work, then it is clear to me, and adamant fans of mine, that you fall in the overly sensitive category… You sound bitter for personal, “scorned” reasons that have nothing to do with my comedy. And your overly sensitive, bitter (in the guise of objective) biased perspective compels you to harp on a mere component of my sketch instead of the entire sketch and its obvious brilliant structure, witty banter, and poignant insights. Not only are you not a comedy critic. You’re not much of a critic at all. You just confidently assert simplistic analysis; one can’t help but to question your intelligence. Jokes aside, I’d trust the judgement in a tabloid quicker than I’d trust the judgement you claim to pass.

    Kamal Symonette-Dixon

    11 April, 2009 at 8:15 am

  4. If you don’t trust my judgment then why do you care what I write about your short, moderately misogynistic comedy skit? If everyone is hailing you with accolades and laurels then why even address what I write or worry of its effect on the small amount of people who even read that blog posting? Really, I barely spent 90 words dismissing the piece.

    I’m not bitter or overly sensitive. I’m aware that humor is about turning the mirror on people and distorting the image in a comedic way. What you did was not poignant or insightful; black women have had to take jabs from black men as being race traitors and aligned with white males since the shackles were first put on our ankles, which is far from the truth. The only funny thing about your piece was Omarosa was married to a black guy at the time she appeared on “The Apprentice” and stabbed Kwame in the back. And it wasn’t funny ha-ha, it was funny hmpf. There are aspects of interracial dating, black solidarity dating, and just being black in the workplace, in the hood, or in the new millennium that are funny and could be exploited to laughter. But you didn’t do it with that piece and if someone told you that it did, then go ahead and believe them but coming here and writing a diatribe on my blog won’t change my opinion.

    rentec

    13 April, 2009 at 7:55 pm

  5. Someone didn’t tell me the piece was poignant, many people told me the piece is poignant. Many with far superior analytical assessments than the ones you provide. Each one of my sketches and comedic work address different issues. I cover black culture through and through. You don’t know who you’re dealing with. But funny, you enjoyed how my Niggerette sketch talked about the hood mindset (until your neo nazi following made you reconsider and write nonsense). But as soon as I touch on a subject that hits home, hits at your insecurity, you create this “it’s not original” spin as a way to dismiss something that you admitted, in your 90 word dismissal, gravely upset you and your “black female” obsessed friends after reviewing it. The “it’s not original” spin is a classic hater technique used by those offended by controversial comedy. If it made you disgusted enough to wrote 90 words and talk about it with your friends, it obviously made an impact. Don’t play yourself. Your bias won’t allow you to see the brilliance. The “it’s not original” spin was even used by the sensitive people who were offended by the Niggerette sketch, a sketch that you, along with MANY, appreciated and was compelled to start a blog about.

    However, if you think this sketch is not original, I challenge you to point to a sketch that’s like it. Please. I just wrote about something in a style and aggression you were too sensitive to hear. And now your bias is trying to offer feeble critiques. But spin it all you like, I’m not trying to change your opinion. I’m addressing your distorted need to twist my sketch for your propagandistic agenda. And I address whomever I choose to address, big or small. I actually find it entertaining. You represent a biased voice, so I will respond as many times as I feel inclined. Deal with it. You played with the wrong fire.

    As stated before, you’re biased and in denial. My comments are not to persuade your clearly warped, overly sensitive sense of humor. My comments are more so against your warped sense of judgment. No sane person sees my sketch and thinks that it is solely devoted to interracial dating black women. And whatever humorous criticism that is devoted to a portion of black females is not devoted to interracial dating black females. Sure. There are a couple of one liners that throw a few fun jabs. Hey, opposites are funny. The classic black men without a spine is funny. Get over yourself. I jab at a lot of things in the sketch. Why are you obsessed with harping on just that component? Are you scared to talk about the element of the sketch that addresses how a portion of black men don’t find certain types of black females attractive based on societal conditioning?(old concept but brilliantly executed in my sketch with absolute originality) Are you scared to address the myriad of other points made in the sketch? Or are you just trying to twist my material for you black women interracial obsession? Seems like you are trying to paint my sketch as some black male complaint over black women dating white men. Spare me. White men are free to have all the black women who think like you and then some. I’ll gladly hook them up. And there’s no malice in my voice when I say that.

    I am not some “brother” who views you as my “sister”. I ain’t on that, babe. Your just some chick with a grudge who is clearly insecure. You got me confused. But I am analytical. And I can see that it empowers you to see black men fight to keep you in the community. Because your whole life they probably rejected you. And now that you say you want white men, you finally get attention from them, albeit negative. Well, I’m not that guy. I write comedy. And jab at many concepts. The interracial thing is funny. There’s a lot of comedy there. If I talk about it in a way too harsh for your virgin ears, get over yourself and deal with it. Or don’t deal with it and keep your blog thoughts to yourself. Just because it doesn’t fit your pseudo “we are the world” tragic mulatto agenda doesn’t mean it’s not to be discussed. (Please look up the term “tragic mulatto” because although I haven’t looked at most of your work, every article on your blog seems to be unoriginal.)

    Comedy writers will always challenge the audience. Yes, very few topics are truly new. But the brilliance lays in the new interpretation. And that new interpretation can bring news ways at looking at an old perspective. Something I do so well. And the gender/racial issues may be an old one but it has not been explored in comedy as much as it could be, especially sketch comedy. It has a newness in the comedy medium, but since you obsess over it all day, I guess you can’t see how it is a new comedy concept; well, normal people do, you abnormal psuedo critic.

    So stop obsessing over that ridiculous interracial point. The main criticism in the sketch is towards haters whether they date whites, blacks, whatever. And in the end, who cares. People are people. And haters are haters. This sketch is not an attack on interracial dating black women. The sketch is an attack on haters. Haters like you. And your level of hate is sophisticated. You try to guise it in a lame claim of objectivity…

    And black women have not been criticized for dating outside their race since slavery. Are you insane? In fact that’s how pimping started. Black men would encourage black women to sleep with white man especially during the reconstruction era. Because the former master would pay for that chocolate loving and the black man would get the money. Besides, you and I both know black women are the ones who have the biggest issue with interracial dating. Or have you forgotten this obvious point in the midst of your propoganda blog? Get off the web and weird culture circles, and look in the streets. Because black men have been chasing white coochie since we got off the slave boat.

    You need to check some of my other sketches that address these issues. If you hate this sketch, then you’ll pull your hairs out on the other stuff I got babe. Funny, you promote this propoganda about black women dating white men as if that’s Something New. I actually have a closing line in an old sketch parody I created about a movie that I know you love. I won’t say the line on your blog, but it addresses exactly how old this interracial dating thing is…

    I don’t hate on interracial dating black women. To each his own. My godson is mixed. Father white, mother black, and his mother is my first cousin. They have a beautiful relationship. There’s not a black man on this planet who can replace my godson’s father. And my first cousin is NOT a “race traitor” or any of that nonsense. She knows who she is and loves who she loves. No. My criticism is not against women like my cousin. My criticism is against warped proganda driven nut cases like yourself who feel the need to push some interracial agenda with Hitler-like techniques, attack black men, and then feign innocence and objectivity- All because back in grade school the black boys didn’t like you and white boys probably didn’t like you either. But for some reason the rejection from the black boys got under your skin a little more. So now you preach rejection of black men. And accuse any person attacking that point as a person who is attacking black women or all interracial dating black women. No. I don’t have anything against interracial dating. I have something against propagandistic bitter people like yourself who pretend to be objective.

    Kamal Symonette-Dixon

    14 April, 2009 at 12:14 am

  6. Regrettably I do know what I am dealing with: an egomaniacal individual who takes each critique as a personal slight so that he has to go across the internet writing specious monologues about his Kanye West inspired grandeur but without the IMDB page to match.

    I liked Niggerette, I thought it was funny, although a bit like Aaron McGruder but I was willing to see where you went from there. If people really want to see what you claim to execute with your comedy sketches then they need to go here:

    http://WWW.BOONDOCKSBOOTLEG.COM

    It’s cutting edge and although McGruder can be offensive and I don’t agree with him on a lot of things, he’s still pretty funny.

    I’m not an interracial advocate with my blog I try to encourage understanding across race and gender. I don’t care if anyone gets it because I don’t write for everyone I write for me. And it might surprise you but I don’t care if you don’t think I’m original because, frankly, I don’t care what you think. I’m not blowing up your email or your spot trying to get you to understand where I’m coming from because I don’t care if you understand me; from what you’ve written, I can see you don’t understand much.

    And now you bore me so I’m done talking to you.

    rentec

    14 April, 2009 at 5:13 am


Leave a Reply

