Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Brainy Blasian Toddler Goes Mensa

with 2 comments

hat tip to Yayoi Winfrey for this story

I never really hear other Black mothers of Blasian kids discuss this, but for me whenever I tell people (usually black women) that J and I plan to add more kids to the family the common response, after how cute the kids will be with that BlacKorean mix, is how smart they will be.

“Ooo, they will be so smart.”

And I say, I know, because I’m fucking brilliant.  My daughter is an Ace.  How could another child from me not be?

“Oh, but you know, because the kid will be half Asian and Asians are really smart.”

(deep sigh)

I try to point out that blacks are intelligent, too, throw out some black nerd names they’ve never heard of and say that not all Asians are human computers.  There are Asian Americans that have little interest in math and science and, like my stepson, aren’t competing to be the valedictorian of their high school class. 

“Yeah, he’s smart,” I say.  “But he’s more of a jock.  That’s where his interest lies.”

Oh, but that’s the black in him, they argue.  And he’s still smart, right?  Yeah.  The intelligence is just latent.

I give up.

Kids are kids and I believe it’s nurture over nature when it comes to intelligence, even with this story about a young toddler who at the age of 2 has just become the latest Mensa member.

Elise Tan Roberts with mother and father

Elise Tan Roberts with mother and father

And the Elise Tan Roberts is Blasian with ancestry from England, Malaysia, China, Nigeria, and Sierra Leone.  But what is more impressive is her IQ of 156 and she can name the capitals of 35 countries. 

The child is undeniably smart, but less credit goes to race, nationality and ethnicity.  That child is bright because her mother and father saw a spark in her and cultivated it.  Inquisitive children are like sponges that needs to soak up information instead of being told they’ve asked too many questions within a five minute period. 

Mrs Tan Roberts, a part-time accounts manager for Pickford’s removals, said: “She just says things and you have no idea where she got it from.

“I don’t set out to teach her loads of stuff, she just enjoys learning and picks things up. She’s always on the go, she never stops.”

Times Online 30Apr09

This could be a hint to parents who have talkative, inquiring children but you just assume the kid is just being a pest.  The child’s mind is just doing what it’s supposed to do and it’s the parents job to help develop it.

But then if people want to be lazy and just attribute intelligence to dominance of the Asian genes then I won’t argue with them.  Heck, my future kids and grand kids might benefit from it.

Written by rentec

2 May, 2009 at 4:20 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amazing, ain’t it? The first time someone made that “you’re so smart it must be the Asian in you” remark to me, my mouth just dropped.

    Keep up the good work and mahalo nui loa for the hat tip, Sardonic Sistah!

    Your Hip Hapa,
    Yayoi

    Yayoi

    8 July, 2009 at 4:26 am

  2. I think its great for once there not plastering white faces on tv and everywhere else its about time there are all kinds of people who are smart in all races

    mr w

    22 November, 2012 at 12:43 pm


Leave a Reply

