Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

One Small Step for Blasian Couples, One Giant Leap for All Kinds

with 4 comments

Well, this is the week where it suddenly seemed BF/AM couples were everywhere.

Okay, not everywhere.   Just a few places… like three.

Actor John Cho

John Cho

Gabrielle Union

Gabrielle Union

In LA-LA Land a blasian couple will be a staple on ABC’s new TV series Flash Forward when Gabrielle Union  takes on a recurring role as the wife of series regular John Cho.  I am awash with surprise because from all the premieres I saw over the summer it seemed it was going to be a white season but now I will definitely be tuning in to watch this new series.

Flash Forward premieres on ABC  Thursday September 24 at 8pm. 

A few weeks ago on Bravo,  Real Housewife Lisa Wu Hartwell took her friend NeNe Leakes to meet her Chinese family(episode 5, Home Is Where the Heartbreak Is; original airdate 27 Aug 09).  It was an odd segment because, for some reason, NeNe kept going on about how she didn’t see Lisa as Asian  although she met Lisa’s extended family who were all Chinese.  Lisa even looked a bit like one cousin and spoke Chinese with another.  Finally NeNe made her peace with it by saying Lisa was a black girl with good hair.

Yeah… okaaaay…

And the third is about a person who used to be on a hot TV show as a child.  Congratulations to

Hannibal and Kellie

Hannibal and Kellie

actress Kellie Shanygne Williams from the show Family Matters on her marriage to business man Hannibal Jackson (my friend says he’s blasian although I think he might be Samoan, but either way it’s close enough to note them here).

Asian male/black female pairings are small so it’s refreshing to see us popping up in a few places.  I’m still waiting for that show with a blasian couple as the lead (tapping my toe impatiently).

Written by rentec

18 September, 2009 at 8:52 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He’s Black and Korean.

    anon

    21 September, 2009 at 7:36 pm

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    JimmyBean

    1 October, 2009 at 5:43 am

  3. Woot! Slowly but surely we getting main stream. How *interesting* that he’s black and korean. Ah those koreans always getting with the black folks =P

    Nikki @ Blasian Baby

    3 October, 2009 at 12:29 am

  4. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

    BloggerDude

    9 October, 2009 at 1:47 am


Leave a Reply

