Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

R.I.P. Chris Henry

leave a comment »

Chris Henry May 17, 1983 – December 17, 2009

Do you remember the novel “The Bridge of San Luis Rey” by Thorton Wilder?

It’s one of my favorite books.  The story opens with a friar investigating the lives of five people who died when a bridge collapses in Peru.  While looking into the people’s lives the friar discovers that all the people had problems in their past and when they died were on their way to changing their life around.  The question of why did those people die at that particular time, was there a reason, would there have been a change is left to be answered by the reader at the end.

I thought of the book when I heard of Chris Henry’s death yesterday.  He was troubled and he had issues and he was young and in the land of 2nd chances we really don’t want to give them to someone especially if they are a young black male.  I remember all the stuff he did and when the Bengals let him go I said, “Finally!  Damn!”  And when they took him back I said, “What?!”  But he kept his head down, has stayed out of trouble (at least news making trouble), and played his game.  I don’t know what happened between him and his fiancée on the road that day; aside from the 911 tapes I’m getting different stories about their relationship and personalities from everywhere.  I just know that the path of young love for many rarely runs smoothly and I hope that whatever changes he did make it was enough for the One who makes the final judgement.

Rest in peace, Chris.

Written by rentec

18 December, 2009 at 3:42 pm

Posted in Passings

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

