Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Looking for the Perfect Match

with 2 comments

Maya Chamberlain, NPR/Chamberlain Photo
Maya Chamberlain, Age 4

This story is a hard one to see at this time of the year.

Maya Chamberlain is in need ot a bone marrow transplant but since she is of mixed heritage it’s hard to find a match for her.  Maya’s mother is Indian and her father is Caucasian (English/German).
Worldwide there are 13 million people registered for bone marrow donation but none of those people are a perfect match for Maya. 
The perfect match for Maya may not have the same racial backrgound as she does, although it could help.  Maya’s brother was tested but he wasn’t a match.
“If we don’t have a full match, we’re going to have to go for a mismatch donor, and the doctors are assuring me that it’s going to be OK,”  said Dr. Mina Chamberlain, Maya’s mother, to NPR’s Liane Hanson.”  But I’ve looked at the numbers myself; I’ve looked at the papers myself. It’s just not the same as a fully matched donor, and it’s crucial, it’s crucial, that we find a fully matched donor for her. It could be anyone.”
Written by rentec

28 December, 2009 at 3:39 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello,
    My name is Lupita Matias and I live in Cincinnati,Ohio. I saw your story in 12News. I was wondering if I can help out in some way.I wish you all the best!

    -Lupita

    Lupita

    6 January, 2010 at 10:39 pm

  2. Lupita it’s not my daughter, I just feel for the family’s story. If you are looking to be a bone marrow donor please go to http://www.marrow.org to find out how to register.

    rentec

    8 January, 2010 at 1:13 am


Leave a Reply

