Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

The Maxx: Complete Series on DVD

leave a comment »

For Christmas my husband gave me The Boondocks seasons 1 &2 and I’ve been watching them for the past two weekends.  What can I say?  I really love that show.  I hid them before my daughter went back to college because I am sure she would have lifted them if I left them lying about.  I think she took my old “The Maxx” comic books years ago; she had been coveting them since she was around 8 or 9.  I started collecting them around that time and reading them voraciously.

What is “The Maxx”?  Well, the Maxx is a homeless guy who wears a purple suit but in his “Outback”/fantasy life he’s a superhero who has sworn to protect the Leopard Queen who is Julie his freelance social worker. There’s also these scary, eyeless black creatures called the Isz who is controlled by Mr. Gone.   In the beginning you aren’t sure who has created the fantasy world, The Maxx or Julie,  why Mr. Gone is so terrible and why the Outback was even created.  I consider it one of the best comic series ever written and Sam Kieth a great writer (have you seen his Batman series).  Yeah, The Maxx is dark and twisted but if you don’t like dark and twisted you really should stick with The Archies.

But anyway, the complete series that ran on MTV back in the mid-90s is out on DVD.  I share this with you not just for information but also as a hint to that wonderful husband who bought me my favorite Christmas gift that my birthday will be approaching soon and he might want to get me another DVD set to divert my attention from the honey-do list.

I’m just saying.

Written by rentec

5 January, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Leave a Reply

