Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Blasian Power Couple: Kevin Johnson and Michelle Rhee

with 4 comments

Michelle Rhee and Kevin Johnson

Things rarely surprise me but this super Blasian coupling did.  Former Phoenix Suns player Kevin Johnson and DC School Chancellor Michelle Rhee are engaged.

Both have impressive backgrounds.  Rhee has been getting attention over the last few years with her no-nonsense hard-edged approach with turning Washington DC’s public schools around.  While in the NBA Johnson was known as the intelligent one and now is the mayor of Sacramento, California. 

They live on opposites sides of the country and will probably stay that way for a while after they are married.  If they can find time to arrange a wedding in between saving the world.

It will be Johnson’s first marriage and Rhee’s second. 

Johnson’s family approves of Rhee.  In the Washington Post article Johnson’s mother Georgia “Mother Rose”  West spoke highly of her soon to be daughter-in-law and Johnson’s brother said he’s happy he can stop answering questions of when his handsome eligible brother will settle down. 

And of course, both Johnson and Rhee speak highly of each other; you can tell they have each other’s backs.

“That school system in D.C. has been failing children despite the blood good people have been pouring into it,” he says. “Now you got a woman who doesn’t look like them — fighting for them!”

Rhee returns the compliment. “I’ll tell you,” she says, “what really impresses me about Kevin. He works hard. He could be someplace lounging on a beach.”

The couple plan on carrying the reformist torch into their marriage.

Washington Post 10March2010

Hopefully they can also plan a honeymoon for themselves.  Even Super Saiyan couples need a break.

Written by rentec

10 March, 2010 at 8:33 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like Michelle Rhee. I think she is no-nonsense.

    Lorraine

    12 March, 2010 at 8:43 pm

  2. what the hell is Blasian¿
    why do you people buy into such garbage¿

    carl singh

    18 December, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  3. Kevin and Michelle?!?! Wow! I didn’t know that they were engaged. As a matter of fact, I was under the impression that she was married to another man. Though I’m not from DC, I’ve read so much about her. I’m with Lorraine. Georgia needs a woman like her.

    ATLSis

    1 February, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  4. I met KJ and his fiancee last week at a hotel in San Francisco. I did not recognize him at first. As he was exiting the hotel, I hollered in his direction and told him, “Brother, I don’t mean any harm but I know you from seeing you on TV.” Please don’t be offended but I know I know you. KJ responded to me by turning around and coming over to shake my hand and kindly saying “Kevin Johnson”. I was in total glee. I knew I knew you “KJ”—Man, you were a real baller. He smiled and told me thank you as he left the hotel with Michelle.

    Michael

    25 April, 2011 at 10:47 pm


Leave a Reply

