Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Honoring vs. Dissing: There is Difference

with 2 comments

Sometimes I am vexed at the behavior of people.

Within the last few years there has been an explosion of natural hair love among black people.  We are wearing our natural kinks and curls and not caring how others perceive us.

So when a friend sent this pic to my inbox today I scratched my head, unsure how to take it.

korean froFor a year now other bloggers have noticed and commented on it.

An Afroetic Narrative writes:

…so it seems that, those who would see this as some kind of Asian appropriation of black culture is right…but I however disagree that it is a just out-right mockery of black culture. It’s my opinion that it is only a mockery or offense to those who are still not comfortable enough to wear their ‘own natural hair’I mean, I guess giving oneself a perm to try to make the hair look like ours shouldn’t be immediately taken as offensive…

And Expat Jane weighs in with:

There seems to be shock that Asians are have now taken on Afro hairstyles. There is a thread on a forum I’m a regular on where people are just beyond shocked. It’s rather funny considering I’ve been seeing it for awhile and just never thought it was that huge of a deal. However, I can’t deny that it’s a trend that is spreading, but I say fine with me as imitation is the highest form of flattery. I noticed it from the time I arrived here years ago. I saw Koreans with braids break dancing at the top of Busan Tower. When I wore braids as my signature style I also saw Koreans getting them and saw other shops opening which displayed pictures of Korean models with Afro hairstyles.

My ambivalence to keep my ire lowered is not without company.

But these mofos here:

Someone needs to give them a reprogramming a la A Clockwork Orange

blackfacewrong A-Clockwork-Orange-malcolm-mcdowell

I’d rail against it more but this blogger sums it up best for me:

C’mon son… ya’ll just playyyyyyyyyyed yourselves and generations of brothers (and other fraternities who will get that negative wave of associative criticism). I’m just glad there are sites like Angry Asian Man to publically denounce ya’ll. We at Gumship are going to take it a step further and officially ask you to slap yourselves, and then slap the person holding the camera, and then the dude who edited the footage, and then the dude who uploaded the shit….. it’s like, there were so many steps to getting this video made and nobody in between to go ‘wait a minute….’. Like, really? HAHAHAHAHAA WHAT IN THE FUCK?!

Blast from Gumship

Written by rentec

25 April, 2013 at 5:16 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Getting on different races for having afro style hair is like getting in black people for relaxing their hair or wearing straight wigs and weaves. There isn’t a difference. As a black person who has experimented with my hair before going back to nature, I think it’s very hypocritical of black people for being upset at other races for having afro hair when we have had “white” hair for hundreds of year. There isn’t a difference between what Asian are doing and blacks.

    mustrdseed

    12 July, 2013 at 3:57 pm

  2. It is possible for Korean to have curly hair born with like in the photo you showed above. I know of because I am one!~~ No offenses it is natural!!~~~

    공유

    20 August, 2013 at 8:58 pm


Leave a Reply

