Sardonic Sistah Says

Observations… Ruminations… Ponderances… & Rants from Another Perspective

Happy birthday, Wendy Ida! My Fitness Freedom Hero

with one comment

In case you missed it, there is a movement of black women taking control of their health and getting fit.

Not getting “skinny”, not changing one eating disorder (overeating/bulimia) for another (anorexia) but learning about eating better, eating healthier and making a change.

Although we don’t want to change it up too much.  Being slim is ok, but black women love, love, love their curves.

Wendy IdaWendy Ida proves that you can be slim and curvy at the same time.

Today is her birthday and I don’t think she minds my telling everyone that she is 61 years old.

Yes, she’s 61.

No, I’m not dyslexic, she’s not 16 she’s 61.

Yeah, that 61.  Three score and one.

She looks good.

She first came to my notice when I saw her on a promo for the Jeff Probst show.

I was agog. She was 60 looking half her age. And it’s not just her look; she’s also moving better than a lot of women half her age.

And she didn’t start in her 20s or 30s, she started at 43.  And she holds two Guinness World records for fitness, one for burpees.  I am not going to lie, I hate burpees.

Yet,  I also hate being dead… so…

WendyandArtIdaIda also is a domestic abuse survivor.  With her children in tow, she escaped her husband and later married a gorgeous Japanese man.

If you want to hear about how she extricated herself from that relationship, click here to go to Beyond Black and White.

Again, happy birthday Mrs. Ida.  You are a beacon of light for many women who feel encased in darkness.  Just by being you, you are showing many women that it’s never too late to escape hell and then re-start the clock.  Hell, you look like you turned back the clock.

If you are ready to empower your self physically pick up Mrs. Ida’s book, Take Back Your Life: My No Nonsense Approach to Health,
Fitness and Looking Good Naked! from Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

 

 

 

 

Written by rentec

3 May, 2013 at 11:37 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m amazed by her age!

    Jean

    12 May, 2013 at 5:37 pm


Leave a comment